Time 2 MEditate!

Yoga  is an ancient practice worth sharing with the world.  A gift for young and old to gain physical benefits but also spiritual, mental and emotional.  My goal is to share this practice with you no matter where you find yourself in life, there’s something to gain. 

RizeYogiRize is about Yoga, Yums & Youspiration, read on, let’s begin our journey together :)))

Here’s a space I hope you find solace in knowing you’re never where you need to be because you’re a work in progress and can always go higher and still higher in your growth as a human being.  We all need comfort in knowing that we’re not alone in our thoughts, feelings, experiences or insights gained from life. 
 
Today, my first post, I just have to share how much my experience with meditation has transformed me as of late. I’m a yoga instructor who has always incorporated meditation in my practice, individually and as the closing treat during  a class for my students.  The thing is, it hasn’t been a regular practice until while on a trip to Jamaica, I was reading Richard Hittleman’s classic, Guide to Yoga Meditation.  This little book has had such a profound impact on my life.  One feature discussed that really got me thinking is how we use our energy stores.  Think of the ways in your daily life you may find yourself wasting energy.  Hittleman mentions repetitive habits we practice as ways we waste energy.  He discusses hours in front of the television as a means to wasting energy because it takes energy to take in a film with violent features for instance or intense emotional dramas.  He comments that oftentimes after all those hours, we feel sluggish instead of renewed.   What about persons in our lives that we allow to sap our energy stores? Hittleman’s insight about how I use my energy stores has had an intense impact on my life and has forced me to consider everything I do or invest my time in throughout the day. And so now, I’m more conscious of using my energy for things that will build me now and in the future.  A meditation pause, is part of the day!

Hiittleman suggests just 3 minutes of meditation focus on a candle flame.  You can choose any visualization feature, I’ve been practicing the candle method and what it’s done for me has been amazing.
 
I get myself a comfortable pillow, have on seat in a cross-legged position.  It’s usually in a carpeted area in a comfortable room with dim lighting.  I light that candle and make a choice to be still, to be present and consciously empty my mind of any distracting thoughts. It’s just me and my candle flame and its beauty, this is all that comes to mind as with my imagining lighting the world with positive warmth just like the flame.  I focus my attention for 3 minutes and the next 3, I close my eyes and hold the picture in my mind.  What I see is a circle, a bright circle surrounded by a red line, it’s amazing.  When the circle fizzles out, almost non-apparent I use the power of my mind to see that perfect circle of light once again.  And, there it is!
 
Now, onto how this simple break has impacted the flow of the rest of my day.  One thing I notice, I’m more focused when I have to accomplish something! Before, I’d have many things in mind that somehow I’m thinking I’ll be able to do and just overwhelm myself.  I still get overwhelmed but now, I have a better perspective.  You accomplish more when you add what I call push to a task, it’s done more efficiently and you get more done because now, you don’t allow yourself to be distracted. All that matters is the task at hand! You’ll find you’ll perform every task with an unwavering measure of focus.  Try it and please, let me know what begins to happen for you.  I guarantee you’ll be echoing my sentiments.
 
If you want to pick up the book mentioned above, here it is at Amazon, notice, it’s earned a perfect 5 stars:
 
 http://www.amazon.com/Richard-Hittlemans-Guide-Yoga-Meditation/dp/0553251627
 
For all my yogi sisters and brothers, do add this book to your library if you haven’t already.  It will also prove to give you insight into what yoga really is about, definitely not just a physical practice.  It’s so beyond that especially when you combine the yoga poses presented in the book combined with the meditation techniques.

And remember, if you’re going through something right now, think, when you’re looking at that candle, it sways, shakes and so on but, it’s foundation never moves.  Stay grounded despite the winds that are blowing.
 
Alright, let me know your thoughts, can’t wait to hear them! Happy Meditating!
 
 
 
 
 
 

Leave a Reply

